Shure Green Bullet

There are numerous versions of this since the late 40s produced microphone from America.

The many terms such as "CR", "CM", "black label", "white label" ... that you here, do not interest us particularly. Anyone who wants to get rid of his money here, must know what he is doing, because these days there are a lot of different models with very different properties. However, the many years and the usual manufacturing tolerances can certainly bring a "baby" to the patient collector which has a particular sound. Who wants to read about the history of this classic, take a look here:

Shure 520d

In the 1970s, the production has been moved to Mexico shortly after the introduction of the 520d and thus acquired new equipment. Therefore, the tolerances of the mexican elements are not as big anymore, and they are all "Dual Impedance", so you can not take the wrong "type". If such an element does not sound, then it is broken (usually by a user error, because it is robust) or you have had very bad luck.

The picture shows an element from a 520d from 1993, already advertised as harmonica microphone.

But even with this microphone, there is a drawback. The 6m cable is securely connected and regularly annoying. A practical XLR connector does not fit to the case. A coupling on the cable is somehow unprofessional. Only one solution remains, the good old Switchcraft Connector. For a microphone the acquisition of this tool is not profitable.

If you still want to add a potentiometer, it gets hard. A drilling template is advisable. Then a 16mm alpha or a 9mm mini potentiometer fits.

Shure 520dx

The 520DX exists since 1996. Instead of a CM capsule, a huge dynamic capsule with a transformer can now be found - means "High Impedance". It has a volume control and is produced for harp. Even if you read sometimes, it would be a bad microphone, no, it is still the standard. A little cleaner in tone than the 520d but it may also be more universal. Anyone looking for a starting point where nothing can go wrong, take this. Not much choices in harp microphones off the rack.

The picture shows a model of 2014 - now with thinner cords and CE mark.

Bullet new and old
The new 520dx capsule on the left, the CM from the 520d on the right
520dx capsule
The capsule from the 520dx

Shure Green Bullet

Es gibt zahlreiche Versionen dieses seit Ende der 40er Jahre produzierten Gebrauchsmikrofons aus Amerika.

Die vielen Begriffe wie "CR", "CM", "black label", "white label "... , die einem um die Ohren gehauen werden, brauchen uns nicht besonders zu interessieren. Wer hier sein Geld loswerden will, muss wissen was er tut, denn es gibt in dieser Zeit die unterschiedlichsten Modelle mit ganz unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften. Die lange Zeit und die damals üblichen Fertigungstoleranzen können dem geduldigen Sammler aber durchaus ein "Schätzchen" bescheren, das für ihn einen besonderen Klang besitzt. Wer die Historie dieses Klassikers nachlesen will, der sollte sich hier umsehen:

Shure 520d

In den 1970er Jahren wurde die Produktion kurz nach der Einführung des 520d nach Mexico verlagert und damit auch neue Maschinen angeschafft. So sind die Toleranzen der Mexikoelemente nicht mehr so groß, und alle sind "Dual Impedance", man kann sich also auch nicht "im Typ" vergreifen. Wenn ein solches Element nicht klingt, dann ist es defekt (meist durch Anwenderfehler, denn es ist robust) oder man hat schon sehr Pech gehabt.

Im Bild ein 520d Element von 1993, schon als Mundharmonikamikrofon beworben.

Aber auch bei diesem Mikrofon gibt es einen Nachteil. Das 6m Kabel ist fest verbunden und nervt regelmäßig. Ein praktischer XLR Verbinder passt nicht an das Gehäuse. Eine Kupplung am Kabel ist irgendwie unprofessionell. Es bleibt nur eine Lösung, der gute alte Switchcraft Schraubverbinder. Für ein Mikrofon rentiert die Anschaffung des Werzeugs aber nicht.

Wenn man dann noch ein Poti ergänzen will, dann wird es schon recht eng. Eine Bohrschablone ist ratsam. Dann passt ein 16mm alpha oder ein 9mm Minipoti.

Shure 520dx

Seit 1996 gibt es das 520dx. Statt der CM Kapsel findet man nun eine riesige dynamische Kapsel mit Übertrager - also "High Impedance". Es besitzt einen Lautstärkeregler und ist für Mundharmonika produziert. Auch wenn man an diversen Orten lesen kann, es wäre ein schlechtes Mikrofon, nein, es ist immer noch der Standard. Ein wenig cleaner im Ton als das 520d aber dafür vielleicht auch universeller. Wer einen Startpunkt sucht, wo er nichts falsch machen kann, nehme er dieses. Bei Hapmikros von der Stange hat man nicht soviel Auswahl.

Im Bild ein Modell von 2014 - nun mit dünnerem Kabel und CE Zeichen.

Bullet neu und alt
Links die neue 520dx Kapsel, rechts die CM aus dem 520d
520dx Kapsel
Die Kapsel aus dem 520dx mit Übertrager